14 Iconic 'Forrest Gump' Quotes

September 2022 · 3 minute read

Nominated for 13 Academy Award nominations and winning six, Forrest Gump tells the tale of a slow-witted Southern boy who grows up to make history in extraordinary ways, albeit through a series of accidents and happenstance. Interweaved bittersweetly through his adventures is Forrest's lingering love for his childhood sweetheart neighbor, Jenny Curran, who struggles to find peace within herself amid a turbulent time in America's history — the psychedelic, social and civil unrest of the 1960s. 

Based on the book by the same name, the film, which was directed by Robert Zemeckis, casts Tom Hanks in the titular role, alongside A-list actors Robin Wright (as troubled Jenny), Gary Sinise (as Lt. Dan) and Sally Field (as Forrest's wise and sassy mother).

Let's stroll down memory lane and re-live the best quotes from our favorite shrimp-boating, ping-pong champion, cross-country running hero, Forrest Gump.

“Stupid is as stupid does.” – Forrest Gump

“My mama always said, ‘Life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.’” – Forrest Gump

“Run, Forrest! Run!” – Jenny Curran

“You have to do the best with what God gave you.” – Mrs. Gump

"Dear God, make me a bird. So I could fly far. Far far away from here." – Young Jenny Curran

“What’s normal anyways?” – Forrest Gump

"Have you ever been on a shrimp boat?" – Bubba
"No, but I've been on a real big boat." – Forrest Gump

“Anyway, like I was sayin’, shrimp is the fruit of the sea. You can barbecue it, boil it, broil it, bake it, saute it. There’s shrimp-kabobs, shrimp creole, shrimp gumbo. Pan fried, deep fried, stir-fried. There’s pineapple shrimp, lemon shrimp, coconut shrimp, pepper shrimp, shrimp soup, shrimp stew, shrimp salad, shrimp and potatoes, shrimp burger, shrimp sandwich. That, that’s about it.” – Bubba

“Bubba was my best good friend. And even I know that ain’t something you can find just around the corner. Bubba was going to be a shrimping boat captain, but instead, he died right there by that river in Vietnam.” – Forrest Gump

“Me and Jenny goes together like peas and carrots.” – Forrest Gump

"Have you ever been with a girl, Forrest?" – Jenny Curran
"I sit next to them in my Home Economics class all the time." – Forrest Gump

"I'm not a smart man. But I *know* what love is." – Forrest Gump

"Have you found Jesus yet, Gump?" – Lieutenant Daniel Taylor
"I didn't know I was supposed to be looking for him, sir." – Forrest Gump

I don't know if we each have a destiny, or if we're all just floatin' around accidental-like on a breeze. But I, I think maybe it's both. – Forrest Gump

ncG1vNJzZmivp6x7o7XOoKmaqJiue6S7zGilnq%2BjZLOwvtGeqq1ll6q6sXnQrqatnaM%3D